Immigration New Zealand is introducing a new travel requirement for some visitors.

Effective October 1, travellers from 60 visa waiver countries will need an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority). Travellers who attempt to travel without an NZeTA from this time will be denied boarding.

This change will only apply to passport holders from countries that currently do not require a visa to travel to New Zealand. South African passport holders currently require a visa.

Affected countries include Canada, Croatia, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Portugal, Greece, Ireland, the UK and Italy.

The NZeTA request costs NZD $12 (R112) when completed online and NZD $9 (R84) when completed on Immigration New Zealand’s app. The International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy is NZD $35 (R326) and is paid at the same time as the NZeTA.

Click here to access the NZeTA request form that will be available from late July.